Hoosier Racing Tire


John Wes Townley and crew celebrate their win at Daytona (photo courtesy of www.arcaracing.com)DAYTONA BEACH, FL (February 16, 2013) -- The ARCA Racing Series ran its 50th anniversary race at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday to kick off the 2013 season. 

In the end, John Wes Townley passed eight-time and defending race winner Bobby Gerhart with just eight laps to go in the Lucas Oil 200 presented by MAVTV American Real.

The 80-lap race had an international flavor to it. Forty-four cars were on hand for qualifying including three drivers from Canada, two from France and one from Venezuela hoping for one of the 40 starting spots.

John Wes Townley earned the pole for the race circling the 2.5-mile superspeedway in 49.638 seconds (181.313 mph) using Hoosier's 12" wide radial slicks. Venezuelan driver Milka Duno was second (49.860) followed by Bobby Gerhart (50.044) in third. 

The race began with Milka Duno jumping into the lead at the drop of the green flag. Duno led the first 11 laps before giving way to John Wes Townley for his first turn out front. 

Matt Kurzejewski would lead laps 13-14, while Josh Williams would lead the next three laps before Bobby Gerhart worked his way to the front of the field.  

Gerhart looked well on his way to capturing his ninth Daytona victory leading the next 55 laps. 

But with just eight laps to go, the Lebanon, PA driver suffered fuel pump issues causing him to slow and ruining his chances for yet another win.  

The fuel pump problem caused Gerhart to slow up with John Wes Townley there to regain the race lead.

Townley led the rest of the way winning by .173 seconds over Kyle Larson who started 11th. 

Ricky Ehrgott finished in third place followed by Frank Kimmel and Sean Core as four of the top five finishers notched career-best finishes. 

In a credit to the talent level of all the competitors, the race had only three cautions, one for a blown motor and the other two for on-track skirmishes. 

Hoosier's trackside sales and service team for the Daytona event included; Doug Barnes, David Wroblewski, Rick Tostevin, John Reynolds, Kevin Wroblewski, Chad Wright, Mike Haenes and Jim Bartholomew.

The ARCA Racing Series is back in action March 9, at Mobile International Speedway as part of its 21-race schedule.

Prior to the race, ARCA President Ron Drager and Hoosier Vice President Dennis Sherman announced a contract extension that will have Hoosier continue as the exclusive tire for the series through the 2015 season. 

Hoosier began participating in ARCA events as a tire provider back in 1985 and has been the Official Tire of the ARCA Racing Series since 1995.

For more information about the ARCA Racing Series please visit www.arcaracing.com


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2013 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.  Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.